“I know your deeds. See, I have placed before you an open door that no one can shut. I know that you have little strength, yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name.” -Revelation 3:8

20120322-004902.jpg

The Book of Revelation is one that is commonly cited in regards to prophecy concerning what is still to come to pass in the end times. Though the theme of Revelation certainly addresses this, there are still many deep and wonderful messages contained within. This verse is certainly no exception, and it spoke to me personally in a profound way. Christ, through John, addresses how He views those that flail about, struggle and falter. Glory to Christ that He still loves us despite our backsliding.

20120322-005339.jpg

While we struggle against sin, we tend to think, without necessarily articulating it, that the Lord pays more attention to our faults rather than our victories. The wonderful message here is the Christ knows and pays attention to everything. The Lord has seen our struggle and seen us denying ourselves in His name, as well as our trespasses, which He forgives us for, if we do not deny Him!

20120322-005828.jpg

I have recently been struggling with this very thing, and the answer came to me in a vision. On the evening of March 10th, I laid down to rest after a productive day of work. There are moments I feel the joy of the Lord, most certainly, but I tend to always feel He is disappointed in me. So as I lay there a clear vision popped into my head of a door opening. It’s hard to describe, realize I only use the word vision, for lack of any better terminology. It seemed to be registered in a visual sense, but was also resonated in my mind and spirit. It would be kind of how you might see a picture within TV static and how your not really sure if the image was there or if your mind produced the image. This is the only example I could really equate it with. Of course, with the vision, I had a certainty that it was there. This fact is further evidenced by what was to come.

20120322-010039.jpg

I realized the lack of the knob is an important piece of the vision, meaning that this door could not be opened by my own accord, but rather had to be opened from the inside. It was one of the most clear visions I ever had and I got up immediately and transcribed the experience. In addition to the vision, there was the idea planted within my head and that it would require more study. I looked in a concordance for “open doors,” and the first verse I came across indicated that the vision wasn’t necessarily directed at me, but someone very close and dear to me. When I shared it with her, she found it as profound as I did and it blessed her greatly. Amen!

20120322-010338.jpg

The second verse I ran across was directed at me, and it is indeed the one I write of today. Not only have I came back under grace as the vision suggests, but the Lord is aware of my efforts. As I have said, I always looked at the disappointment of the Lord, when I fail. Thereby, I have completely forgot the joy of the Lord. How delighted our Lord is when someone turns from sin or temptation in His name! As He says in this verse, “I know your deeds,” He is aware of my victories and failings, and if I feel the Spirit’s conviction through my failings, then it follows that the Spirit is too delighted by my victories. Due to my past and how it torments me, I was unwilling to accept this due to my own feeling of inadequacy, which negates and disrespects the grace offered. While He has forgiven me, I don’t allow this forgiveness to manifest joy in my Spirit. Rather, I keep working for the Lord, as if by my actions He will consider me righteous. Yet, through what action can man be made righteous? The answer is none, and I must allow myself to have the faith in the Lord that produces confidence, hope, and culminates in joy.

20120322-010833.jpg

Despite this realization, it won’t be an overnight change, but the Lord is telling me to find joy in all that He has done for me. He knows my weaknesses, but at the same time has opened the doors into His kingdom and opened the doors of opportunity in my life. Though I haven’t always kept His word, I kept it in my heart and never denied the Lord, but it was through my conversion and the building of a relationship with Him, by which I was granted a spirit that strives to overcome temptation. I am weak but the Lord’s joy is being offered to me, if I choose to accept it.

20120322-011028.jpg

Friends, I pray that you would choose to accept the joy of the Lord in your life. The enemy likes to throw our misdeeds in our face when we approach the cross, so that we hide our face from Jesus, rather than look upon Him as we kneel before the Lamb. The Lord knows your deeds in your life, you have done nothing that shocks Him, and if you are given the opportunity for grace, as the Scripture tells us all are, then it follows that His grace can cover your misdeeds, for He knew of you before His crucifixion. I often wonder when Christ prayed, “Forgive them Father for they know not what they do,” if He was only praying for those who nailed Him to the cross or for all man?

20120322-011304.jpg

We know not what we do, but Christ knows. I encourage you, and myself, to step into the joy that Christ grace has offered us. To not only view our shortcomings, but accept when the Lord is proud of us. All this so that the door, which we cannot open, may be opened to you, granting you access into eternal life and a deeper relationship with our Lord and God, amen.

20120322-011540.jpg

