“For through the law I died to the law so that I might live for God. 20I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.” -Galatians 2:19-20

20120320-012801.jpg

When we come to the Lord, the law is written on our hearts, and this being the case, we make every effort in faith to be obedient to the law. Yet, Christ, though He embodied the law, also transcends it, for if in Him we are freed from the condemnation which comes from the Old Covenant, then a New Covenant must have come. We are all guilty of transgression, and have all broke the law. It is only through faith in Christ Jesus that we can be justified.

20120320-013431.jpg

Our old sinful selves experienced the justice of God, for the sinful self was crucified along with Christ, and Christ deposited our sin in a place of death. As the Old Covenant made way for the new, likewise our old selves made way for the new, and now being as we are, a new creation, Christ dwells within us, rather than the law reigning over us. Thereby, we live in faith, along with Christ, the author and perfecter of this faith, that we may not only live for ourselves, but for Him.

20120320-014900.jpg

It is due to the grace transcending the law, offered by Christ, that we gain eternal life. This is all thanks to God’s great love for us, a love explicitly shown at Calvary, when the shame of the cross was transfigured into Christ’s glory. Amen.

20120320-014537.jpg

