“Earlier, during the first year of King Belshazzar’s reign, Daniel had a dream and saw visions as he lay on his bed. He wrote the dream down.” – Daniel 7:1

Photobucket

I would like to start off this entry by sharing some of my trepidation about posting this particular entry, but also, why its important I share it. When I first started this blog, I wanted  to share some of what the Lord was telling me through His infallible Scripture. Never did I have the desire or need to post some dream, vision, or words from the Lord directly. It isn’t that He doesn’t have the ability to communicate in such ways, He certainly does, and I trust God completely. What I don’t trust in is the self, and having had dreams from the Lord before, as well as from the enemy, I have sealed this collection up in journals, that they would be only seen by me and shared if the situation was deemed right, to my shame, again usually by me, and thus I would blow off the dust on one of my journals and read the account transcribed there. Though I consider these to be forms of truth, given unto me by the Lord our God, my fear of doubt, of being wrong, of pride, and of fooling or misleading the self, either willingly or otherwise, kept me from sharing much of these events. Yet, recently the Lord has been speaking to me through his word and the Parable of The Talents, and I realized if God was doing amazing things in my life, and I hadn’t been sharing them, then I am no better than the wicked servant to buried his talent in the ground.

Photobucket When I really think about it, another fear becomes apparent as well. Who am I that God would grant me a dream? I am no prophet, and though at one time in my walk God had regularly spoken to me, my disobedience brings the question to my mind if such a clear hearing from God will ever be experienced by me again? Though Moses was beloved by God, his disobedience meant he did not get to enter the promised land. Therefore, likewise, perhaps by my disobedience I missed out on a gift of communication and communion with the Lord, which by its very nature is an extremely rare gift indeed. At any rate, I praise God for the fact He has not cut me off altogether, for He certainly would have been justified in doing so. At one time I felt this was to be the case, and indeed I came very, very, close to dying. I couldn’t help but think of some of the imagery offered in Johnathan Edwards’ Sermon, “Sinners in The Hands of An Angry God.” Praise be to God that is patience and love surpasses that of man, and that He has many more ways to communicate with us than just through words. Dreams are one of the ways, and they who dreams the dream, along with those that interpret them, are bestowed with great gifts of the Spirit. I will not lie, this simple dream seems to contain a mystery that wasn’t revealed to me, so if anybody has any godly insight, not merely just arbitrary guesses, I would love to hear them. Its not that I would be angered at such guesses, only that I am weak, and they would serve more to confuse me then to be an answer from my Lord.

Photobucket

"Sinners in The Hands of an Angry God," by Jonathan Edwards. sermon, c. 1741

Last night/early morning and I was plagued with nightmares and even an apparent spiritual battle during my awake moments. To me what was indicated by the unaccountable fear and stress was that a presence, which was not, “quite right,” was nearby. The fear was nearly claustrophobic and terrifying to such a degree, I felt that I had got kicked in the head and I felt as if I was spinning and falling all at the same time. Thus, I had a hard time falling asleep, and when I did, I would have visions/dreams of things most foul, and was actually tempted, somehow, to dwell on these things, which I came to refuse. A beautiful verse in Philippians, Chapter 4, Verse 8, keeps going through my cluttered head and I must remember it in the future for future battles:

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.” -Philippians 4:8

Photobucket At last I drifted off into sleep, but arose again once a vision had entered my mind, that was, well, honestly rather strange. Though I could still feel the lingering terrifying atmosphere tainted by something not of God, I got up immediately to draw a picture, a representation of what appeared in my dream, and with the picture came an accompanying verse and at least part of the meaning of the image. I just hope I can convey the meaning to the fullness it deserves. Here is the picture as I drew it after awaking. By the way, another reason I am so hesitant to share this concerns my artistic prowess, or lack thereof. Yet, as embarrassing as it is, I disclose the drawing and await your laughter:

Photobucket

As you see, it is rather strange, especially since the circles, in my dream appeared as coins, all straight up-and-down in a singular column. I was unable to draw it this way, it seems a little lopsided, but I tried and I hope that despite my less-less-less-than-perfect illustrations, which are so terrible the painters of the infamous forms on the walls within the Caves of Lascaux would be laughing until tears poured down their cheeks, some sense behind the drawing becomes apparent. To me it seemed to form into some manner of coherent sense right away, but that doesn’t mean my explanation will. Yet, let us continue, with the images not-so-silly-as-the-drawings meaning.

Photobucket

I just pointed out that all three represented coins, though what currency I did not know. I suspect this particular form outside mere symbolism, doesn’t actually exist. The top coin, was made of silver, not gold, like I would have expected, and this coin had a five-point star engraved on the front. The middle coin, was made of copper, or a copper-like material, for it was more of a tan color than brown, you would expect from say, like a penny. Furthermore, the middle coin had a pentagram etched on the front, which has an obvious interpretation. The third and bottom was, well I don’t know. It was like a coin of nothing, just darkness. At this time, a lot of the definitions and interpretations began to flood my mind. This is when I sat up and began to draw. In my interpretation were included some words, which I felt compelled to write (I will expand upon this in due time), labels, and things that resemble obscure algebraic problems, and even a Bible verse.

Photobucket

Here is an example of my writing in typed text form, for you won’t be able to read it if I took a picture of the page in my notebook. The small drawings of the coins I made initially are symbolized by (C):

Coins = Wages = Just Payment

1. Color – Silver (C) Star – 5 point =Celestial (True Life)

2. Color – Copper (C) Star – pentagram =Evil/Earth (Mortal Life)

3. Color – Black (C) Star – N/A =Death (Death)

First off, the initial line, “Coins = Wages = Just Payment,” was the answer to why coins were shown in the dream as opposed to any other object. In addition, on kind of a side note, that should be included here, I do not pursue the occult practice known as “automatic writing.” When writing these definitions of the coins, symbols and whatnot, I was fully conscious and was not engaged in any sort of transcendental meditation. There is an obvious danger when engaging in these practices for they open up the soul and body for any spirit that wants to inhabit a person’s being. Since we know that Satan walks about like a hungry lion, we should lock those doors which grant access to this kind of practice, that we may not become foolish, devoured, or become a tool for the enemy to use for his purposes.

Photobucket

That being said, I felt that, though the dream came to me in a state of sleep, the meaning came to me in a state of being fully awake. As I finished writing these “labels” down, the meaning began to take form in my mind and spirit. Yet, with the words given, along with the definitions and illustration, my mind was questioning the middle coin and its meaning of earth and evil. God is represented on earth, to be sure, and in the mind of man, including my own, there’re both good and bad people that inhabit this intermediate “realm.” However, thanks to the leadership of God, I discovered that my human thoughts, which congealed to form a false truth, were indeed very far from the true truth. I was led to a few scriptures concerning the interpretation of this dream and/or vision.

Photobucket

I recalled that in Luke 18:19, Jesus Himself said, “No one is good – except God alone.” Thus, I see and saw that my belief upon good and evil being represented in and of the world both, is a fallacy. If God and Christ are the only good, the world is evil. If this is indeed the case, all that is good can only come from the Lord. This truth is an incredible one to behold, but there is more confirmation in Scripture. James 1:17 says:

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” –James 1:17

Photobucket

This verse is perfect, not only in and of itself, but also how it relates to my illustration, with those celestial realms being located above all, including evil, death, and earth. Heavenly lights, could refer to the stars of both the upper and middle coins, or even the arches, which I will bring up again later. Philosophically speaking, the fact that human beings, the earth, and all creation changes, suggests imperfection, for in perfection, change is not necessary, nor can it be changed. The imperfection came to exist after, according to Genesis, the original sin. James puts this in perfect perspective by equating all things that are good, perfect, and unchangeable with God, who is above all, and cannot, or need not change like, “shifting shadows.” We find in the Old Testament, God refers to Himself as, “I Am,” which suggests He is all, His being is perfect, and His nature cannot be changed. Why do shadows shift in the first place? In the “natural world,” they shift due to the position of the sun, moon, stars in relation to earth and our fixed location. Thus, where our shadow falls, if indeed at all, is dependent on the interaction between that what is physical. This being the case, and knowing that God is not bound by what is physical, far surpassing such laws, He is who He is, and cannot be any different. Furthermore, while a shadow can be there one moment and vanish the next, we find our Lord to be much more reliable than the shifting of shadows.

Photobucket

This idea, that perfection is found in that which is unchangeable, and imperfection is advocated by change, is one that has been around a long while within the school of philosophy. This very same argument is used in the construction of the Cosmological Theory, which sets out to prove the existence of God through causal relationships. More in depth, the Cosmological Theory uses three branches to attempt to prove a case for God. These are, as enumerated by Saint Thomas Aquinas, as already said, concern causal relationships, including change, followed by causality, and finally the existence of contingent or necessary beings. Though these theories were first supposed by Aristotle, Plato, and others like them, Saint Thomas Aquinas made a quantum leap in the theory and itemized these ideas, of which three belonging  to the Cosmological Argument and Two to the Teleological Argument. Aquinas sought to provide a more concise proof for the existence of God, in his Summa Theologica, or “The Five Ways.”

Photobucket

When people make the assumption there is no proof or evidence of God’s existence, it seems that they haven’t taken the time for any real study, because this isn’t the case at all. The Cosmological Argument, as well as the Teleological, rests completely on a posteriori (derived from experience) premises that, when used properly, can more than adequately construct a syllogism, or proof, for the existence of God. Due to the denial faculties of the human mind, it seems unlikely that any syllogism, both constructed from supposed a priori (independent of experience) or a posteriori data, can “prove” God beyond doubt in a deductive way. However, it may be concluded from these arguments that an inductive argument can be found, which may suggest, more than likely, God’s existence.

Photobucket

Aquinas’s first argument is induced from the premise of change in objects, which can be plainly observed within the finite. Change, according to Aquinas, doesn’t come into being by itself, but rather needs another associating party to interact with it, which in turn, produces this change or manifests the latter parties potential nature. Aquinas argues that this process cannot be regressed to infinity, and indeed Samuel Clarke tells us, if one was to, it represents an inherent contradiction or absurdity. He says:

“For since something must need have been from eternity; as hath been already proved, and is granted on all hands: either there has always existed one unchangeable and independent Being, from which all other beings that are or ever were in the universe, have received their original; or else there has been an infinite succession of changeable and dependent beings, produced one from another in an endless progression, without any original cause at all: which latter supposition is so very absurd, that though all atheism must in its account of most things (as shall be shown hereafter) terminate in it, yet I think very few atheists ever were so weak as openly and directly to defend it.” –Samuel Clarke

Photobucket

Samuel Clarke

To Clarke, it seems not only apparent, but proved, that in eternity there is some independent object upon which all the responsibility of existence, in general, rests. It seems today, and as Clarke himself supposes, that any theory about how things came to pass, rests on some eternal object, namely God. Clarke tells us the two possibilities are that there is indeed this eternal object, responsible for the universe, or an infinite chain of dependent, thus changeable, potential beings, produced one after the other with no initial cause. Yet, this possibility Clarke tells us, leads us to an inevitable absurdity, to such a degree no atheist can really defend it. However, even in recent years, an initial cause by atheists has been assumed in a cloud of hydrogen, but this even seems subject to some cause. In addition to being the initial cause, we can see implicitly from Clarke’s argument, that an initial cause would by necessity have a semblance within the finite. It is by arguments like Anselm’s (see my note concerning Romans 1:4, “On a Few Notes Concerning The Triune God”), Aquinas’s and Clarke’s, among others, which emphasize some of the basic issues that confront atheism and any theory of a “natural,” spontaneous formation of the cosmos.

“For it is plainly impossible and contradictory to itself.” –Samuel Clarke

Photobucket

Aquinas and Clarke reasoned that there must be a cause of change that is not subject to change itself. According to them, this unchangeable thing is called “God.” Why can’t there be an infinite chain of causality? According to Clarke, this is impossible due to the contradiction it raises when we look at the world. Things seem to be dependent on other things for their existence, thus existence existing in and out of itself, without dependency, is irreconcilable. It supposes something to be caused, but yet be caused by nothing. Even in the formulation of the Big Bang theory, we reach the same problem, it just pushes the question further back into the abstract regress of the mind. If a eternal cloud of hydrogen did exist, what caused it to be, and furthermore, what caused the spark which initiated the creation of the universe? One cannot escape the idea of cause. There would need to be another further transcending ether, which brought it into being, and thus we don’t escape the question at all, but more questions seem to be indeed raised, and in light of the contradiction, this seems more unlikely then the idea of a unchangeable thing.

Photobucket

Lastly, one more thing before I return to the dream. Science likes to tell us that nothing really ever dies, just changes into lesser and lesser forms. This is because of the energy things are composed of. This is an interesting law, for when one looks as the supposed “laws” of evolution, of which proof is lacking, we see the progression from the lesser forms into more complex forms, which contradicts the initial law. Yet, it isn’t exactly shocking neither, for he who has control of evil and the world, is the prince of lies and therefore is masterful in helping people deceive themselves. Since my image from the dream contained “Evil/Earth,” I reasoned, there had to be some biblical proof somewhere if it was true. I indeed found some, which I figured at would. However, it was a surprise to me how much there was, but I pray it isn’t shocking for the readers of this entry.

Photobucket

So, as for the control evil has on the earth and its inhabitants, we go to 1 John 5:19, that says:

“We know that we are children of God, and that the whole world is under the control of the evil one.”

Photobucket

Its quite amazing when you find a dream or vision to not just be abstractly represented in the word of God, but how much more so when it is explicit and said almost verbatim within the Holy writ? Even though I have had dreams such as these in the past, I will be honest and say that I am still hesitant when approaching the question of whether it is from the Lord or not. Yet, what does one conclude when it is backed up completely by scripture? However, as I said earlier, there are many ways God communicates with us. One is actually past experiences. The experiences of yesterday, can be transfigured, by God, into the lessons of today, so that by tomorrow they may come into full use. So when you have even the slightest inkling something may be from the Lord, its important to write it down, that the lesson may be fully realized and put in operation when it is needed.

Photobucket

I remember as a child being a big fan of a little television program called, “Knight Rider,” starring the talent-loaded powerhouse that is David Hasselhoff. Occasionally, during the beginning of an episode, K.I.T.T., the car, would be equipped with some sort of new gadget, and you knew this meant that it would have to somehow go into use by the end of the episode to save both Michael Knight the human hero and K.I.T.T., the sports car. Again, it was kind of a spoiler, for every time they installed a new talent, it would have to be utiltized before the final credits rolled. This is much like how God uses our experiences, to teach us important lessons, that by the end, we may be saved, not by some “turbo boost”-like super gadget, but by the grace offered, and that by our new found faith, and being that we are a new creation in Christ, we may be instrumental in leading others to the Glory of The Cross. Okay, maybe its not the best analogy, but I just wanted an excuse to bring up David Hasselhoff (jk).

Photobucket

Let us take another look at the Hasselhoff-free original horrible illustration provided, minus the coin at the bottom:

Photobucket

Here, between both the top and middle coin, we see two arches. These differ in one area, that the lower arch reaching upward, seems to be connected to the symbolic earth coin, while the arch from heaven, reaching downward, seems to be free standing, but the impression of it emanating from the celestial coin, seems apparent. In addition, we have the 5-pointed stars which appear directly opposite from each other, as they would appear, perhaps, in a mirror. One star of the “classical” school, while another a pentagram representing evil. Yet, those arches are kind of a mystery to me, as to why one is connected and the other is not? Yet, with this I was given an understanding as well, concerning, what I will refer to as, “the transposition of realms,” which in my heart and actions, tends to occur at various times. I hope that sounds relevant and not like I just pulled it out of the “World of Warcraft” handbook or something. To me, the arches look like you could, in the illustration, swap the coins at will, and poise the lesser of the two as the most important.

Photobucket

In the late 80’s, Belinda Carlisle, came out with a song called, “Heaven is a Place on Earth.” In it, Carlisle sings, “We’ll make heaven a place on earth.” Certainly, the saying, “heaven on earth,” and its kin is nothing new. This phrase and those like it have been in the public lexicon for sometime now. I have never thought about it, but as I ponder it, the saying is getting increasingly ridiculous. Now, I won’t say that Belinda was being blasphemous in full knowledge, for she was saying in her song is that if heaven exists, then love there is first, and thereby, she desires that idea to be evident in her life. Still, though not explicitly blasphemy, still, she is certainly being foolish. Another bad analogy, but I thought it stated quite what I thought about the dream. Though the dream was obviously less irreverent, than the 80’s hit. The Scriptures and my dream testify to that fact. The love of heaven can be expressed on earth, for we know God shares many good things with us, like His Son, His word, and we know everything good comes from Him, including existence in general. It comes from Him, but man cannot bring heaven to earth, or find something greater than it, or negate God’s existence by trying to deny the supernatural truth’s of God. Today, where science attempts to swap places with God, what is good is not based on idealism, but rather relativism, both ethical and cultural. Thus, to the world, the greatest good is man, and it is religion that is foolish, and even evil.

Photobucket

The transposition of heaven to earth, and earth to heaven, are dangerous ideas, and though man may not explicitly share these ideas in conversation, or ponder them, we can certainly identify them implicitly. Both in and independent of Scripture. Let’s take a couple examples from Scripture. First from our Lord, Jesus Christ who addresses such people who find their joy, not in things that are eternal, but in things that are destined to be destroyed.:

“Looking at his disciples, He said: ‘Blessed are you who are poor, for yours is the Kingdom of God. 21Blessed are you who hunger now, for you will be satisfied. Blessed are you who weep now, for you will laugh. 22Blessed are you when they exclude you and insult you and reject your name as evil, because of the Son of Man. 23Rejoice in that day and leap for joy because great is your reward in heaven. For that is how their fathers treated the prophets. 24But woe to you who are rich, for you have already received your comfort. 25Woe to you who are well fed now, for you will go hungry. Woe to you who laugh now, for you will mourn and weep. 26Woe to you when all men speak well of you, for that is how their fathers treated the false prophets.'” -Luke 6:20-26

What becomes apparent in the words of Christ is the contrast between what occurs to a person who finds what they “need” in and on earth, as opposed to a person who gets just enough, if not more in spiritual gifts, from the Lord for contentment, joy, comfort, and still longs to be with Him. Now, another from the apostle Paul:

“We are confident, I say, and would prefer to be away from the body and at home with the Lord. 9So we make it our goal to please Him, whether we are at home in the body or away from it.” -2 Corinthians 5:8-9

So how do these two sections of Scripture relate? First off and foremost, they don’t apply only to our existence here in the world, but our lives after it. After the drawing was complete and I wrote all the “definitions” to the symbolism evident in the dream, I wrote a little passage out, which was shockingly reminiscent of the aforementioned passage in Luke! Realize I am, of course, aware of the Luke verses, but didn’t consult the Bible until I had my first impressions down on paper. I mention this passage because I hope this will help identify the meaning behind the dream to those who have got this far in reading my entry without seeing the interpretation.

“Those who try to create heaven on earth will succeed by focusing their endeavors toward the numerous sins in the world. Yet, woe to you who succeed and receive your comfort from the world, for the times are evil, and you have got, and will get, your just reward.”

Praise be to God! I have done this many times myself, chased after the things of the world to promote or pacify contentment or happiness. Yet, all those things that are based in the world, that we should regard as already destroyed, for they will be at the time of the Almighty’s choosing. Everything in the world, and based upon it, will perish, except truth. That’s why, in Luke, Christ offers to the disciples a narrative illustrating a contradictory dualism which can encroach on a believers life. It is not that a Christian can’t be content or happy, but what is the basis of this contentment? For Paul, he was content in all things, because he based his new life on not things of this world or the flesh. Rather, when he was made a new creation, He based everything on the celestial plain and those, like the Lord, who inhabit it. The world has tried to negate heaven, but failed miserably and will always fail, because those who base their comfort on the, “Third Heaven,” see and share it daily, it becomes a part of them by the Spirit. Furthermore, as in the illustration that started this whole entry, God and heaven trump the world, in goodness, size, influence, and will never be defeated by the lower forms of death, the enemy, nor a sinful life here on earth. While at once we might have sought all those sinful things the earth has to offer, these will pass away in an instant at God’s command.

Photobucket

Make sure your foundation and sight isn’t on the earth, but on God. Christ tells us things won’t be easy, you will be poor and persecuted, but only for a season. In Christ, we know He prepares a home and where you will find many riches for those who seek Him within the celestial country. Those who seek comfort in the imperfect things of the earth, are in danger of the eternal death. We in Christ, don’t live under God’s wrath anymore, for He constructed a mighty edifice that pulls us out the world and its ways, Christ the Way. It is only by Jesus Christ that we can be seen as perfect and righteous by being clothed in the Blood of the Lamb. Paul based His life so much on Christ, Christ became the veil through which he saw all as He traveled the known earth at that time. The Scriptures tell us Paul groaned and was burdened within the tent of his body, on our campground of the physical. His comfort came from not from worldly things, but came from He who at first sunk below the earth in His death upon the Cross, but now has rose above by His Resurrection and Ascension.

Photobucket

A transposition is shift, where two parties, switch places, trading spaces if you will. Within your hearts, do not shift heaven into the place earth should be, and do not shift earth into the place heaven should occupy, for this can only lead to a wage of death, both in body, and out of body, meaning eternally. Heaven, will eventually occupy the space of both heaven and earth when they are recreated anew, offering a whole new kind of being we can’t even fathom, and since death will be defeated, the vacuum left over will be occupied by those who are turned away from and by Christ our Lord. Realize that though we can be in the world, we are not of the world, and if we overcome the world, our future citizenship rests in that earth and heaven that will co-exist when they are merged and rebuilt. Yet to be in the world and of the world, our future citizenship is in death and eternal torment. The wages of righteousness based in the celestial kingdom, are the keys to a house within the new holy realm, while the wages of sin is a one-way ticket into death, a place of eternal darkness and an absence of hope. A place that will be eventually sealed off by the Right Hand of God.

Photobucket

Lastly, we must be wary of the times we live in. To take the evil in the world and superimpose it onto heaven, is bad enough, but to negate heaven altogether is just as bad, or even worse. As I had mentioned before, the multiple “scientific” theories that wish to disprove heaven’s existence and thereby God’s, search to find ways of negating the “dangerous” belief structure of Christians and replace it with the worlds. Once you, brothers and sisters, find yourself with Christ, adorned with the encouraging seal that our Lord is indeed preparing a place for you, do not turn back to sin (see my note concerning Luke 9:62, “On Escaping The City of Destruction”), for this too is a transposition. Thinking you can find a purer, more fulfilling  joy outside of God, is not only foolish, but disrespectful to He who sent His one and only Son to die for you. This concludes my exploration of a rather simple dream, that turned out to have some deep meaning, and a call to arms, if you will, to put on the full armor of God, and equip yourselves with the weapons of righteousness in the right hand and the left. For the battle is coming and has come. I leave you, again, with the words of Paul. Thank you all for reading and may the Lord bless you all today as He has blessed me. Amen.

Photobucket

“For when you were slaves of sin, you were free in regard to righteousness. 21But what fruit were you getting at that time from the things of which you are now ashamed? For the end of those things is death. 22But now that you have been set free from sin and have become slaves of God, the fruit you get leads to sanctification and its end, eternal life. 23For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” -Romans 6:20-23

Photobucket

