“Through Him we received grace and apostleship to call all the Gentiles to the obedience that comes from faith for His name’s sake.” -Romans 1:5

One of the paradoxes frequently discussed amongst those in the Christian faith is the relationship between faith and obedience. We find the Bible does place importance on both faith and deeds, though it also tells us our deeds are meaningless, in that we cannot acquire salvation from them and of our own accord.

We, as Christians, more often than not understand this conceptually, for it is a cornerstone of our faith in Christ. As it is said, if it was possible to become righteous because of deeds, then Christ need not have come in the first place (See my note on Galatians 2:21, “On Righteousness by The Law”).

It’s unfortunate, but even us Christians, me included, continue to lose our way, and each and everyone of us can think of a time where we have backslid spiritually. When I read this verse I feel it is not only important for me, but all the Body of Christ. In fact, I have dealt with this very thing recently and perhaps anyone reading this can relate.

I had backslid quite a bit, from what I would consider the most pious time in my life. The scripture tells us of the sin that so easily entangles (See my note on Hebrews 12:1, “On Running The Race”), and more or less, I threw myself headlong into that thorny hedge of intertwined sin and darkness.

The thorns pierced deep into my bone, and once more I was caught in a life of sin. My heart, however, as corrupt as it was, ached for God to pull me out of that hedge. I knew the Lord would love nothing more, for I had a very pious relationship with Him in the past. So I desired to come back to the relationship I once had with Him, and thought I could get that by obeying His statutes. Imagine my disappointment when I found it was doing no good for my relationship with Him, nor was it pulling me out of sin, for I found the sin still abundant in my life despite my disgust with it.


It took me a while, but I eventually was shown I had it all backwards. Even the most taught of us in the faith, make this very mistake. We find ourselves in a place, much like where I was at, and we think to have a relationship with the Lord, we must clean up to approach Him. Yet as Paul touches on here, it is faith that brings us to the Lord and by that relationship, it’s manifest in our deeds.

Christ Himself said that if we love Him, we will obey Him (See my note on John 14:23, “On Love: A Motive For Obedience”). This doesn’t necessarily mean that every sin negates the love we have for Him, though it does show the imperfection of our love, but rather, that loving Him is a necessary condition for obedience. Thus, despite my shame of backsliding, I took some simple steps to improve my relationship with the Lord. I made the assumption He still wanted to hear from me, I confessed, prayed and spent time in the word.


Honestly, it was rather uncomfortable at first. Really uncomfortable. Yet, the relationship has seemed to grow abundantly stronger in a short amount of time, simply because I looked to God, not obedience, to bring me closer. This is a lesson that is clear when we come to Christ, but somehow it gets lost among even the most devout of us. We don’t need to become perfect to come to the Lord or to have a relationship with Him.

So, if you have sin in your life that is tearing you apart from God, realize you have been apart from God already, hence the disobedience. Yet, take heart if you recognize it, for that is the Almighty Himself calling you back. Humble yourself and strive to develop your relationship with God and the obedience in which the Christian finds peace and contentment will surely follow.

