“I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.” -John 15:15


I recall coming across this verse not too long after first becoming a Christian. When I read it, it touched me greatly because I had been in prayer and was consistently praying for a friendship with God, but didn’t even know at the time if it was biblical or not. It may seem odd, but as my eyes ran along the beautiful words I started weeping there at my table at the local Starbucks over my newly acquired leather-bound NIV translation and my rapidly cooling vanilla latte.


The thing was that I had heard many of the titles our relationship with the Lord is commonly referred to. These included, of course, much of the immediate family designations, as well as those that symbolize authority over those who are subservient. Yet, as far as I could recall, I never heard of a “friendship” between us and Christ.

In my life I hold my friends to high esteem, and as my relationship with the Lord grew, so did the desire to, not only call Him my savior, but my Friend as well. It seemed rather silly, but to me somehow extremely important. Thus, when I ran across, or was lead to this verse, it seemed deeply personal as if the Lord was indeed acknowledging that we were indeed friends.

As touched as I was at that moment, another thought came into my mind. It hadn’t been long since I was out of the party scene and I had the distinct image of me strolling through one of those sinful shindigs. I was walking around socializing and I recalled or was shown some of us conversing about some non-present individual that we hold to high regard for one reason or another.


I immediately saw how silly it was. We have the most arbitrary reasons for holding people to high esteem. We even at times envy those who are more indulgent in sin than we are! Other times we envy people for ridiculous things like popularity or fame.


Fame is a weird one. We have the odd desire to attach ourselves to famous people. If you were at a get together, and I don’t include everyone who is reading this mind you, and you happen to be a friend of one of the Kardashian’s, you would probably not hesitate to bring it up in every possible conversation you can, for it somehow fulfills your pride, or gives you the sense of having more self worth.


Why can’t we do that when it comes to Christ? We should be looking at every conversation as an opportunity to tell people we are friends with Jesus.


– “Hey, you know that Jesus Christ guy?”

– “Uh, yeah.”

– “Dude, I am great friends with Him!”

– “What? Really? You know Jesus?”

– “Absolutely!”

– “Well, come on. What’s He like?”

. . . And so on and so forth.

For some reason we would have no issues bringing up the fact that we are friends with Snookie or saw her in a store once, but when it comes to Christ we clam up. Now I don’t know if God showed me these things in my minds eye or if it’s because I have an over active imagination. In either case, it serves to me as a conviction and as a reminder to how freely we should share Christ, which is the greatest, most famous person who lives to this day and offers us the greatest gift one could ever receive, that of eternal life. He should be a constant topic and we should boast loudly that we and Him are the greatest of friends.

